One Mans Everest by Kenton Cool reviewed

Title: One Man's Everest Author: Kenton Cool Genre: Non fiction Publisher: Arrow Release Date: April 21, 2016 Format: ebook Pages: 356 Source: NetGalley Kenton Cool is the finest alpine climber of this generation. His accomplishments are staggering. He has summited Everest eleven times. He is the first person in history to climb the three Everest …

More

Walking the Woods and the Water by Nick Hunt reviewed

Title: Walking the Woods and the Water: In Patrick Leigh Fermor's Footsteps from the Hook of Holland to the Golden Horn Author: Nick Hunt Publisher: Nicholas Brealey Publishing Format: ebook Pages: 336 Source: NetGalley In 1933, the eighteen year old Patrick Leigh Fermor set out in a pair of hobnailed boots to chance and charm …

More

Pilgrimage in Terror – Katie Barron,review

Title: Pilgrimage in Terror Author: Katie Barron Genre: Non fiction Format: ebook Pages: 204 Source: Author Armed with a pair of trainers and a supermarket ‘Bag for Life’ as hiking kit, Katie, 31, set off to walk the Camino, the ancient pilgrimage route that runs through Northern Spain from the Pyrenees to Santiago de Compostela. …

More

The Way We Die Now – S O’Mahoney review

Title: Way We Die Now Author: Seamus O'Mahony Genre: Non fiction Publisher: Head of Zeus Release Date: May 5, 2016 Format: ebook Pages: 320 Source: NetGalley We have lost the ability to deal with death. Most of our friends and beloved relations will die in a busy hospital in the care of strangers, doctors and …

More

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

Title: When Breath Becomes Air Author: Paul Kalanithi Genre: Non fiction Publisher: Random House Release Date: January 12, 2016 Format: ebook Pages: 256 Source: NetGalley For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer …

More

Understanding Exposure, Fourth Edition – Bryan Peterson

Title: Understanding Exposure Author: Bryan F. Peterson Genre: Photography Publisher: Amphoto Release Date: 2004 Format: ebook Pages: 160 Source: NetGalley Provides detailed lessons on the elements of exposure and how each relates to depth of field, freezing and blurring action, and shooting in low light, demonstrating a diversity of creative choices in exposing a picture. …

More