The Twisted Tree by Rachel Burge reviewed

The Twisted Tree Book Cover The Twisted Tree
Rachel Burge
Fantasy
Bonnier Zaffre
November 1, 2018
Ebook
180
NetGalley

Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller - this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver.

Martha can tell things about a person just by touching their clothes, as if their emotions and memories have been absorbed into the material. It started the day she fell from the tree at her grandma's cabin and became blind in one eye.

Determined to understand her strange ability, Martha sets off to visit her grandmother, Mormor - only to discover Mormor is dead, a peculiar boy is in her cabin and a terrifying creature is on the loose.

Then the spinning wheel starts creaking, books move around and terror creeps in . . .

Set in the remote snows of contemporary Norway, THE TWISTED TREE is a ghost story that twists and turns - and never takes you quite where you'd expect.

The Twisted Tree Rachel Burge is a Young Adult fantasy story set in Norway. I feel I should make it clear that I have not been a “YA” for quite a long time. However I have read and reviewed a few YA books over the past few years. The outline of this one appealed to immediately. In part I think this was because of the reference to Neil Gaiman whose books I love generally.

Martha has run away from home in England to visit her Norwegian grandmother. Arriving at her isolated house she discovers that her grandmother has died. However someone else seems to be staying there. It did take me a few pages to get into Martha’s character. However after that I romped through this very quickly. The Twisted Tree is in the garden of the house and has been central to the lives of those living there for a very long time. However what exactly is the Twisted Tree?

This was genuinely nicely spooky. The Nordic legends were very well used and explained. The quality of the writing was very good and made for an easy read. I did like the idea of Martha being able to read fabric – that was novel and interesting. Martha with all her emotions and fears makes an excellent character.  This is a rich story and will stay with me for some time to come I think.  Anyone who enjoys Neil Gaiman’s stories and other like that should fine this an enjoyable read.

I can’t really fault this story. It was an enjoyable read. It has interesting characters who are well worked. The pace/tension/spooky ness are very good. My rating of 4.5/5 I am more than happy to round up to 5. I’d like to read this author’s next book.

Note – I received an advance digital copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair review

Leave a Reply