The Last Thing I Remember by D Bee reviewed

The Last Thing I Remember Book Cover The Last Thing I Remember
Deborah Bee
Fiction
Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
February 25, 2016
ebook
272
NetGalley

For fans of BA Paris' Behind Closed Doors and The Girl With No Past, a tense thriller with a clever and original premise - and a devilish twist Sarah is in a coma. Her memory is gone - she doesn't know how she got there. And she doesn't know how she might get out. But then she discovers that her injury wasn't an accident. And that the assailant hasn't been caught. Unable to speak, see or move, Sarah must use every clue that she overhears to piece together her own past. And work out who it is that keeps coming into her room. A novel that grips from the very beginning and that will live long in the memory, The Last Thing I Remember is Deborah Bee's startling debut thriller.

I really did find the start of this book by Deborah Bee very intriguing. In the first chapter we have Sarah in hospital having suffered some trauma and probably unconscious. The next chapter introduces us to Kelly. Kelly is a young teenager who lives next door to Sarah and whose main attribute, other than swearing, would appear to be mangling English. The chapters alternate between Sarah & Kelly throughout the book. At this stage it was intriguing – yes, however I wasn’t sure it was convincing and I found the language and writing took a little getting used to (it’s a while since I was a teenager!).

It was one of those books where, at the end of every chapter, I though “I’ll just read one more…”. The pace was excellent and there was some great black humour. While in the main there are really only two characters in this book the other players are well caught by either Kelly or Sarah and played their parts very well. It is one of those “gradual reveal” stories as the two threads share a little of the whole as chapters go by and I found that worked extremely well for me. The writing is simple – deceptively simply. I’m amazed at how good a book can be that just has two very different voices and approaches. As time went by I found it harder and harder to put this book down. I really did find myself loving Kelly as a character and she will stick with me for sometime to come even if Sarah’s story was also very good indeed. It is a very accomplished d├ębut thriller from an author I hope I will read more of. I have no doubts it will be one of the best books I’ll read this year.

Note – I received a digital copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair review