Little bones by Sam Blake reviewed

Little Bones Book Cover Little Bones
Sam Blake
Police
Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.
May 17, 2016
ebook
400
NetGalley

For fans of Alex Barclay and Niamh O'Connor, Little Bones introduces Cathy Connolly, a bright young heroine set to take the world of crime fiction by storm.

Twenty-four-year-old Garda Cathy Connolly might be a fearless kick-boxing champion but when she discovers a baby's bones concealed in the hem of a wedding dress, the case becomes personal.

For artist Zoe Grant, the bones are another mysterious twist in her mother's disappearance. Then her grandmother, head of the Grant Valentine department store empire is found dead, and a trail of secrets is uncovered that threatens to shake a dynasty.

In a story that moves from London's East End to the Las Vegas mafia, one thing is certain - for Cat, life will never be the same again.

In this book, by Sam Blake, “little bones” are found by Cathy, a police constable, in an old wedding dress after an apparent break in and one things leads to another. The first few chapters of the book introduce a number of characters in a number of locations and it seems probable that these diverse threads will connect later on.  In the main I found the characters interesting – I particularly liked the old lady known as Mary in London who maybe isn’t called Mary.  The main characters were mostly well worked and were not as stereotypical as some of this genre of books.  Certainly Cathy as a kick boxing champion is not run of the mill!
I did find the start a little slow for something labelled a “crime thriller”.  And while this is certainly not a bad book, for me, the pace and tension are not quite what I would have expected.  The pace did pick up as the book progressed and I wanted to know the outcome.  Cathy particularly was a good character.  The story itself was enough to keep me reading though, as with a number of other crime books these days, I fail to see the need for “love interest” intruding on the story. All too often it feels like it has been bolted on for effect. I’d happily read another by Sam Blake but would prefer it to have more pace from the start. 3.5/5 I guess
Note – I received an advance digital copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair review