All the Perverse Angels by Sarah Marr reviewed

Title: All the Perverse Angels Author: Sarah Marr Genre: Fiction Publisher: Unbound Release Date: February 22, 2018 Format: Ebook Pages: 304 Source: NetGalley Anna, an art curator, leaves a psychiatric hospital and finds herself in an English village, sharing a rented cottage with her partner. Seeking refuge from the aftermath of past infidelities, she constructs …

More

Mad Blood Stirring by Simon Mayo reviewed

Title: Mad Blood Stirring Author: Simon Mayo Genre: Historical Publisher: Doubleday UK Release Date: April 15, 2018 Format: Ebook Pages: 364 Source: NetGalley 1815: The war is over but for the inmates at Dartmoor Prison, peace – like home – is still a long way away. On the eve of the year 1815, the American …

More

The Wicked Cometh by Laura Carlin reviewed

Title: The Wicked Cometh Author: Laura Carlin Genre: Historical Publisher: Hodder and Stoughton Release Date: February 8, 2018 Format: Ebook Pages: 432 Source: NetGalley The year is 1831. Down the murky alleyways of London, acts of unspeakable wickedness are taking place and no one is willing to speak out on behalf of the city’s vulnerable …

More

The Watch House by Bernie McGill reviewed

Title: The Watch House Author: Bernie McGill Publisher: Tinder Press Release Date: August 10, 2017 Format: ebook Pages: 288 Source: NetGalley In the vein of Hannah Kent’s Burial Rites, THE TAILOR’S HOUSE by Bernie McGill is the story of the modern world arriving on Rathlin, a remote Irish island, at the very end of the …

More

Rotherweird by Andrew Caldecott reviewed

Title: Rotherweird Author: Andrew Caldecott Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Quercus Books Release Date: May 16, 2017 Format: ebook Pages: 464 Source: NetGalley ‘Intricate and crisp, witty and solemn: a book with special and dangerous properties,’ Hilary Mantel ‘Baroque, Byzantine and beautiful – not to mention bold’ M.R. Carey Rotherweird is twisted, arcane murder-mystery with shades of …

More

The Cigarette Girl by Caroline Woods reviewed

Title: The Cigarette Girl Author: Caroline Woods Genre: Fiction Publisher: HarperCollins UK Release Date: February 23, 2017 Format: ebook Pages: 224 Source: NetGalley BERLIN, 1931: Sisters raised in a Catholic orphanage, Berni and Grete Metzger are each other’s whole world. That is, until life propels them to opposite sides of seedy, splendid, and violent Weimar …

More