The Twisted Tree by Rachel Burge reviewed

Title: The Twisted Tree Author: Rachel Burge Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Bonnier Zaffre Release Date: November 1, 2018 Format: Ebook Pages: 180 Source: NetGalley Part ghost story, part Nordic thriller – this is a twisty, tense and spooky YA debut, perfect for fans of CORALINE and Michelle Paver. Martha can tell things about a person just …

More

My Mad Dad by Robyn Hollingworth reviewed

Title: My Mad Dad Author: Robyn Hollingworth Genre: Non Fiction Publisher: TRAPEZE Release Date: 2018-04 Format: Ebook Pages: 256 Source: NetGalley Inadvertent cross-dressing Attempted murder Jail break A waltz at a funeral A hernia the size of Guernsey Heartbreaking and darkly comic, these are the moments that litter the messy road from cared-for to carer, …

More

All the Perverse Angels by Sarah Marr reviewed

Title: All the Perverse Angels Author: Sarah Marr Genre: Fiction Publisher: Unbound Release Date: February 22, 2018 Format: Ebook Pages: 304 Source: NetGalley Anna, an art curator, leaves a psychiatric hospital and finds herself in an English village, sharing a rented cottage with her partner. Seeking refuge from the aftermath of past infidelities, she constructs …

More

The Sheep Stell by Janet White reviewed

Title: The Sheep Sell Author: Janet White Genre: Non Fiction Publisher: Constable Release Date: March 15, 2018 Format: Ebook Pages: 288 Source: NetGalley As a child in wartime England, Janet White decided that she wanted to live somewhere wild and supremely beautiful, to inhabit and work the landscape. She imagined searching the whole world for …

More

With the End in Mind by Kathryn Mannix reviewed

Title: With the End in Mind: Dying, Death and Wisdom in an Age of Denial Author: Kathryn Mannix Genre: Biography & Autobiography Publisher: HarperCollins UK Release Date: December 28, 2017 Format: Ebook Pages: 216 Source: NetGalley In this unprecedented book, palliative medicine pioneer Dr Kathryn Mannix explores the biggest taboo in our society and the …

More

A Pocketful of Crows by J M Harris reviewed

Title: A Pocketful of Crows Author: Joanne M. Harris Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Gollancz Release Date: October 19, 2017 Format: ebook Pages: 240 Source: NetGalley I am as brown as brown can be, And my eyes as black as sloe; I am as brisk as brisk can be, And wild as forest doe. (The Child Ballads, …

More