A Pocketful of Crows by J M Harris reviewed

Title: A Pocketful of Crows Author: Joanne M. Harris Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Gollancz Release Date: October 19, 2017 Format: ebook Pages: 240 Source: NetGalley I am as brown as brown can be, And my eyes as black as sloe; I am as brisk as brisk can be, And wild as forest doe. (The Child Ballads, …

More

The Watch House by Bernie McGill reviewed

Title: The Watch House Author: Bernie McGill Publisher: Tinder Press Release Date: August 10, 2017 Format: ebook Pages: 288 Source: NetGalley In the vein of Hannah Kent’s Burial Rites, THE TAILOR’S HOUSE by Bernie McGill is the story of the modern world arriving on Rathlin, a remote Irish island, at the very end of the …

More

Straight Expectations by Peggy Cryden reviewed

Title: Straight Expectations Author: Peggy Cryden LMFT, Peggy Cryden, Genre: Non fiction Publisher: Jessica Kingsley Publishers Release Date: May 18, 2017 Format: ebook Pages: 184 Source: NetGalley A memoir of a mother’s experience of raising both a gay son and a gay, transgender son that acknowledges her own upbringing in an adopted family. Through the …

More

Skullsworn by Brian Staveley reviewed

Title: Skullsworn Author: Brian Staveley Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Pan Macmillan Release Date: April 20, 2017 Format: ebook Pages: 304 Source: NetGalley For one apprentice assassin, the clock is ticking . . . Pyrre Lakatur doesn’t like the description skullsworn. It doesn’t capture the beauty of her devotion to Ananshael, God of Death. She is not …

More

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley by Hannah Tinti reviewed

Title: The Twelve Bullets of Samuel Hawley Author: Hannah Tinti Genre: Fiction Publisher: Tinder Press Release Date: April 6, 2017 Format: ebook Pages: 400 Source: NetGalley Bursting with imaginative exuberance, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY by Hannah Tinti has been described as ‘One part Quentin Tarantino, one part Scheherazade’ (Ann Patchett) and will appeal …

More