The Watch House by Bernie McGill reviewed

Title: The Watch House Author: Bernie McGill Publisher: Tinder Press Release Date: August 10, 2017 Format: ebook Pages: 288 Source: NetGalley In the vein of Hannah Kent’s Burial Rites, THE TAILOR’S HOUSE by Bernie McGill is the story of the modern world arriving on Rathlin, a remote Irish island, at the very end of the …

More

Straight Expectations by Peggy Cryden reviewed

Title: Straight Expectations Author: Peggy Cryden LMFT, Peggy Cryden, Genre: Non fiction Publisher: Jessica Kingsley Publishers Release Date: May 18, 2017 Format: ebook Pages: 184 Source: NetGalley A memoir of a mother’s experience of raising both a gay son and a gay, transgender son that acknowledges her own upbringing in an adopted family. Through the …

More

Skullsworn by Brian Staveley reviewed

Title: Skullsworn Author: Brian Staveley Genre: Fantasy Publisher: Pan Macmillan Release Date: April 20, 2017 Format: ebook Pages: 304 Source: NetGalley For one apprentice assassin, the clock is ticking . . . Pyrre Lakatur doesn’t like the description skullsworn. It doesn’t capture the beauty of her devotion to Ananshael, God of Death. She is not …

More

The Twelve Lives of Samuel Hawley by Hannah Tinti reviewed

Title: The Twelve Bullets of Samuel Hawley Author: Hannah Tinti Genre: Fiction Publisher: Tinder Press Release Date: April 6, 2017 Format: ebook Pages: 400 Source: NetGalley Bursting with imaginative exuberance, THE TWELVE LIVES OF SAMUEL HAWLEY by Hannah Tinti has been described as ‘One part Quentin Tarantino, one part Scheherazade’ (Ann Patchett) and will appeal …

More

Shtum by Jem Lester reviewed

Title: Shtum Author: Jem Lester Genre: Fiction Publisher: Orion Release Date: January 26, 2017 Format: ebook Pages: 320 Source: NetGalley Ben Jewell has hit breaking point. His ten-year-old son, Jonah, has never spoken, so when Ben and Jonah are forced to move in with Ben’s elderly father, three generations of men – one who can’t …

More