Shtum by Jem Lester reviewed

Title: Shtum Author: Jem Lester Genre: Fiction Publisher: Orion Release Date: January 26, 2017 Format: ebook Pages: 320 Source: NetGalley Ben Jewell has hit breaking point. His ten-year-old son, Jonah, has never spoken, so when Ben and Jonah are forced to move in with Ben’s elderly father, three generations of men – one who can’t …

More

Beloved Poison by E. S. Thomson reviewed

Title: Beloved Poison Series: Jem Flockhart Author: Elaine Thomson Genre: Historical fiction Publisher: Constable Release Date: September 1, 2016 Format: ebook Pages: 400 Source: NetGalley The object I drew out was dusty and mildewed, and blotched with dark rust-coloured stains. It smelt of time and decay, sour, like old books and parchments. The light from …

More

The Way We Die Now – S O’Mahoney review

Title: Way We Die Now Author: Seamus O'Mahony Genre: Non fiction Publisher: Head of Zeus Release Date: May 5, 2016 Format: ebook Pages: 320 Source: NetGalley We have lost the ability to deal with death. Most of our friends and beloved relations will die in a busy hospital in the care of strangers, doctors and …

More

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

Title: When Breath Becomes Air Author: Paul Kalanithi Genre: Non fiction Publisher: Random House Release Date: January 12, 2016 Format: ebook Pages: 256 Source: NetGalley For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer …

More