Pilgrimage in Terror – Katie Barron,review

Title: Pilgrimage in Terror Author: Katie Barron Genre: Non fiction Format: ebook Pages: 204 Source: Author Armed with a pair of trainers and a supermarket ‘Bag for Life’ as hiking kit, Katie, 31, set off to walk the Camino, the ancient pilgrimage route that runs through Northern Spain from the Pyrenees to Santiago de Compostela. …

More

The Way We Die Now – S O’Mahoney review

Title: Way We Die Now Author: Seamus O'Mahony Genre: Non fiction Publisher: Head of Zeus Release Date: May 5, 2016 Format: ebook Pages: 320 Source: NetGalley We have lost the ability to deal with death. Most of our friends and beloved relations will die in a busy hospital in the care of strangers, doctors and …

More

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi

Title: When Breath Becomes Air Author: Paul Kalanithi Genre: Non fiction Publisher: Random House Release Date: January 12, 2016 Format: ebook Pages: 256 Source: NetGalley For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer …

More

H is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald

Title: H Is for Hawk Author: Helen Macdonald Genre: Nature Publisher: Jonathan Cape Release Date: July 31, 2014 Format: ebook Pages: 320 Source: Own library Winner of the 2014 Samuel Johnson Prize Shortlisted for the 2014 Costa Biography Award ‘In real life, goshawks resemble sparrowhawks the way leopards resemble housecats. Bigger, yes. But bulkier, bloodier, …

More

The Edge of Extinction by Jules Pretty

Title: The Edge of Extinction Author: Jules Pretty Genre: Non fiction Publisher: Cornell University Press Format: ebook Source: NetGalley The scope of Jules Pretty’s book is simply vast covering a dozen or more very diverse locations around the world. Not only are those locations diverse but the current state of those locations vary widely as …

More

A man called Ove by Fredrik Backman

Title: A man called Ove Author: Fredrik Backman Genre: Fiction Publisher: Atria Format: ebook Source: NetGalley The writing and the story are so understated and powerful in its narrative of the very human but very grumpy Ove. I laughed, I cried, I loved it. I’d already read quite a few of the reviews for this …

More