The River by Peter Heller reviewed

Title: The River Author: Peter Heller Genre: Fiction Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Release Date: May 16, 2019 Format: Ebook Pages: 272 Source: NetGalley YOU CAN TRY TO OUTRUN NATURE… BUT WILL YOU SURVIVE ONE MAN’S FURY? TWO FRIENDS Wynn and Jack have been best friends since their first day of college: a gentle giant from …

More

Underland by Robert Macfarlane reviewed

Title: Underland Author: Robert Macfarlane Genre: Nonfiction Publisher: Penguin Books (UK) Release Date: May 02, 2019 Format: Ebook Pages: 280 Source: NetGalley Discover the hidden worlds beneath our feet… In Underland, Robert Macfarlane takes us on a journey into the worlds beneath our feet. From the ice-blue depths of Greenland’s glaciers, to the underground networks …

More

The Library of Ice by Nancy Campbell reviewed

Title: The Library of Ice Author: Nancy Campbell Genre: Non Fiction Publisher: Simon and Schuster UK Release Date: November 1, 2018 Format: Ebook Pages: 400 Source: NetGalley A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger …

More

The Sheep Stell by Janet White reviewed

Title: The Sheep Sell Author: Janet White Genre: Non Fiction Publisher: Constable Release Date: March 15, 2018 Format: Ebook Pages: 288 Source: NetGalley As a child in wartime England, Janet White decided that she wanted to live somewhere wild and supremely beautiful, to inhabit and work the landscape. She imagined searching the whole world for …

More

Summit 8000 by Andrew Lock reviewed

Title: Summit 8000 Life and Death with Australia's Master of Thin Air Author: Andrew Lock Genre: Non fiction Publisher: Melbourne University Press Release Date: November 28, 2016 Format: ebook Pages: 303 Source: NetGalley A thrilling memoir of the spectacular high-altitude mountaineering achievements of Andrew Lock: the only Australian to have summited all fourteen 8000-metre peaks …

More

Under a Pole Star by Stef Penney reviewed

Title: Under a Pole Star Author: Stef Penney Genre: Historical fiction Publisher: Quercus Books Release Date: November 3, 2016 Format: ebook Pages: 576 Source: NetGalley Flora Mackie was twelve when she first crossed the Arctic Circle on her father’s whaling ship. Now she is returning to the frozen seas as the head of her own …

More