Little Sister by Isabel Ashdown reviewed

Little Sister Book Cover Little Sister
Isabel Ashdown
Fiction
Hachette UK
April 27, 2017
ebook
384
NetGalley

'A heart in your mouth read.' RED MAGAZINE You trusted your sister... you shouldn't have. After sixteen years apart sisters Jessica and Emily are reunited. With the past now behind them, the warmth they once shared quickly returns and before long Jess has moved into Emily's comfortable island home. Life couldn't be better. But when baby Daisy disappears while in Jess's care, the perfect life Emily has so carefully built starts to fall apart. Was Emily right to trust her sister after everything that happened before? ********* Fans of Rachel Abbott, Mark Edwards and The Girlfriend will be gripped by this page-turning psychological thriller, guaranteed to keep you reading late into the night. 'A missing baby girl, a marriage ravaged by mistrust, a sibling rivalry with a very dark heart: LITTLE SISTER had me gripped from start to finish.' Louise Candlish, author of THE SWIMMING POOL 'A thoughtful, multi-layered and beautifully-written exploration of family dynamics with a dark mystery at its heart.' Tammy Cohen (Rachel Rhys), author of A DANGEROUS CROSSING 'A brilliant twisty and compelling story about family secrets and betrayal that draws you in right from the first page.' Sam Carrington, author of SAVING SOPHIE 'Kept me up three nights in a row, I was desperate to race to the end but gutted to finish it.' Holly Seddon, author of DON'T CLOSE YOUR EYES 'This thriller doesn't hesitate to pull you into the twisted world of family secrets and sibling rivalry. A great story with characters that just leap off the page and a thoroughly satisfying ending.' Katerina Diamond, author of THE TEACHER

Little Sister by Isabel Ashdown starts with a fairly short but almost too powerful prologue which really does leave you wondering just what is to come. These are two sisters with a history. Just what that history is is not apparent from the start however it is clear that it has had a major impact on their relationship. As a result of this they have not been in touch with each other for some years. The situation now appears far better however Emily’s baby girl goes missing while in the care of Jess, her sister.

In a sense this feels quite a conventional story; two sisters who have history, a missing child, police enquiries, liaison officers and the like. There is a simplicity to the writing that worked well for me and the story moves gradually to the reveal. That simple telling has a darkness to it and uncertainty grows in the dark. It quickly became a book I was not going to put down easily.

Throughout this book there is a sense of dread over what might happen next and what the outcome will be. There was a fairly big twist in the storyline around halfway through which I’m happy to admit I did not see coming! In the end I think this is a deceptively simple story told with deceptively simple writing – it hooked me.

Note – I received an advance digital copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair review