Now You See Me by Kierney Scott reviewed

Now You See Me Book Cover Now You See Me
Kierney Scott
Thriller
Bookouture
November 27, 2017
ebook
318
NetGalley

As she saw his face for the first time, she knew he was going to kill her. She just didn’t know when.

When the dismembered body of Lydia Steiner is found washed up in the waters of a blisteringly hot Louisiana swamp, Detective Jess Bishop knows for certain this isn’t the murderer’s first kill.

Three other dismembered bodies have been found, all bearing the same marks. Marks that strike fear into Jess’s heart. They are identical to those from a case she’s spent her entire career trying to forget.

As Jess and her team try to link the victims, another body is discovered and they fear the serial killer is taunting them. They know it’s only a matter of time before he kills again.

As the body count rises, and the hunt goes cold, Jess knows she has to confront her past in order to catch the killer, even if that means making herself the bait…

Now You See Me is a gripping and heart-stopping thriller full of twists and perfect for fans of Robert Dugoni, Karin Slaughter, Robert Bryndza and Lisa Gardner.

Now You See me by Kierney Scott is the first book in a series about Jess Bishop, an FBI agent, and the cases she handles. This one is about a serial killer who dismembers women’s bodies and appears to keep the heads. Jess has had a partner for a couple of years now, Chan, however early on in this story her previous partner of 10 years, Jamison, reappears. He was very close to Jess but has been on undercover operations. The story follows the twists and turns in the investigation as well as drawing out aspects of Jess’s personal history.

It has to be said that, as this story does cover violent killings and dismemberment, there will be some who may not want to read this. I guess it wasn’t quite to my taste however it was not offensive to me. I found Jess a likeable character and she was interesting too. I’m not quite sure I found her fully convincing though. The damage that is in her past affects her present behaviour – so far no problem. However I’m unconvinced that she would have been accepted by the FBI I guess. The other characters are ok however some were not really fleshed out in the course of the book. That left me feeling that I wanted to know more about them and take them beyond two dimensions.

While this book is about catching a serial killer it seemed as though a fair amount of the narrative was taken up with the personal lives of the agents. I’m not sure that that balance worked for me though I can see why the story was written like that.

I have slightly mixed feelings about this book. I certainly would not have put it down and left it unfinished. Equally though it didn’t fully satisfy me. Personally I’d like to read a prequel covering Jess’s earlier life and her interactions with some of the other important characters in this, her boss would be an obvious one as would be the other person she is friendly with at work. I’m torn as to whether I’d read another but on balance I probably would. Not the best I’ve read but quite a way from being the worst. 3.5/5 for me.

Note – I received an advance digital copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for a fair review