A Town Called Solace by Mary Lawson reviewed

Title: A Town Called Solace Author: Mary Lawson Genre: Fiction Publisher: Random House UK, Vintage Publishing Release Date: February 18, 2021 Format: Ebook Pages: 302 Source: NetGalley It’s North Ontario in 1972, and seven-year-old Clara’s teenage sister Rose has just run away from home. At the same time, a strange man – Liam – drives …

More

Nightshift by Kiare Ladner reviewed

Title: Nightshift Author: Kiare Ladner Genre: Fiction Publisher: Pan Macmillan Release Date: February 18, 2021 Format: Ebook Pages: 256 Source: NetGalley Nightshift is a story of obsession set in London’s liminal world of nightshift workers. When twenty-three-year-old Meggie meets distant and enigmatic Sabine, she recognises in her the person she would like to be. Giving …

More

The Last Good Man by Thomas McMullan reviewed

Title: The Last Good Man Author: Thomas McMullan Genre: Fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing Plc (UK & ANZ) Release Date: November 12, 2020 Format: Ebook Source: NetGalley Duncan Peck has travelled alone to Dartmoor in search of his cousin. He has come from the city, where the fires are always burning. In his cousin’s village, Peck …

More

Love by Roddy Doyle reviewed

Title: Love Author: Roddy Doyle Genre: Fiction Publisher: Random House UK, Vintage Publishing Release Date: October 15, 2020 Format: Ebook Pages: 336 Source: NetGalley Two old friends reconnect in Dublin for a dramatic, revealing evening of drinking and storytelling in this winning new novel from the author of the Booker Prize winning Paddy Clarke Ha …

More

A Little London Scandal by Miranda Emmerson reviewed

Title: A Little London Scandal Author: Miranda Emmerson Genre: Fiction Publisher: 4th Estate Release Date: August 20, 2020 Format: Ebook Pages: 336 Source: NetGalley A compelling and ingeniously plotted story of class and corruption, sex and the Sixties, for fans of A Very English Scandal and The Trial of Christine Keeler Nik felt the mistake …

More

Eight Detectives by Alex Pavesi reviewed

Title: Eight Detectives Author: Alex Pavesi Genre: Fiction Publisher: Penguin UK – Michael Joseph Release Date: August 20, 2020 Format: Ebook Pages: 352 Source: NetGalley All murder mysteries follow a simple set of rules. Grant McAllister, an author of crime fiction and professor of mathematics, once sat down and worked them all out. But that …

More