Spider Woman by the Rt Hon Baroness Hale reviewed

Title: Spider Woman Author: The Rt Hon Baroness Hale Genre: Non-fiction Publisher: Random House UK, Vintage, Bodley Head Release Date: October 07, 2021 Format: Ebook Pages: 270 Source: NetGalley As President of the Supreme Court, Lady Hale won global attention in finding the 2019 prorogation of Parliament to be unlawful. Yet that dramatic moment was …

More

Finding the Mother Tree by Suzanne Simard reviewed

Title: Finding the Mother Tree Author: Suzanne Simard Genre: Non-fiction Publisher: Penguin Press UK – Allen Lane, Particular, Pelican, Penguin Classics Release Date: May 04, 2021 Format: Ebook Pages: 368 Source: NetGalley From the world’s leading forest ecologist who forever changed how people view trees and their connections to one another and to other living …

More

The Magic of Terry Pratchett by Marc Burrows reviewed

Title: The Magic of Terry Pratchett Author: Marc Burrows Genre: Non-fiction Publisher: Pen & Sword Release Date: July 30, 2020 Format: Ebook Pages: 224 Source: NetGalley The Magic Of Terry Pratchett is the first full biography of Sir Terry Pratchett ever written. Sir Terry was Britain’s best-selling living author, and before his death in 2015 …

More

The Library of Ice by Nancy Campbell reviewed

Title: The Library of Ice Author: Nancy Campbell Genre: Non Fiction Publisher: Simon and Schuster UK Release Date: November 1, 2018 Format: Ebook Pages: 400 Source: NetGalley A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger …

More

All That Remains by Sue Black reviewed

Title: All That Remains Author: Sue Black Genre: Non Fiction Publisher: Doubleday UK Release Date: April 15, 2018 Format: Ebook Pages: 368 Source: NetGalley Featured on BBC RADIO 4’s Start the Week Sue Black confronts death every day. As Professor of Anatomy and Forensic Anthropology, she focuses on mortal remains in her lab, at burial …

More

With the End in Mind by Kathryn Mannix reviewed

Title: With the End in Mind: Dying, Death and Wisdom in an Age of Denial Author: Kathryn Mannix Genre: Biography & Autobiography Publisher: HarperCollins UK Release Date: December 28, 2017 Format: Ebook Pages: 216 Source: NetGalley In this unprecedented book, palliative medicine pioneer Dr Kathryn Mannix explores the biggest taboo in our society and the …

More