Underland by Robert Macfarlane reviewed

Title: Underland Author: Robert Macfarlane Genre: Nonfiction Publisher: Penguin Books (UK) Release Date: May 02, 2019 Format: Ebook Pages: 280 Source: NetGalley Discover the hidden worlds beneath our feet… In Underland, Robert Macfarlane takes us on a journey into the worlds beneath our feet. From the ice-blue depths of Greenland’s glaciers, to the underground networks …

More

The Library of Ice by Nancy Campbell reviewed

Title: The Library of Ice Author: Nancy Campbell Genre: Non Fiction Publisher: Simon and Schuster UK Release Date: November 1, 2018 Format: Ebook Pages: 400 Source: NetGalley A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger …

More

The Sheep Stell by Janet White reviewed

Title: The Sheep Sell Author: Janet White Genre: Non Fiction Publisher: Constable Release Date: March 15, 2018 Format: Ebook Pages: 288 Source: NetGalley As a child in wartime England, Janet White decided that she wanted to live somewhere wild and supremely beautiful, to inhabit and work the landscape. She imagined searching the whole world for …

More

The Snow Angel by Lauren St John reviewed

Title: Snow Angel Author: Lauren St John Genre: Fiction Publisher: Zephyr Press Release Date: 2017-10 Format: ebook Pages: 256 Source: NetGalley Lauren St John’s stunning Christmas classic is about forgotten children, the power of nature to heal us and a girl who will climb mountains in search for a place to call home. Growing up …

More

Calling Major Tom by David M. Barnett reviewed

Title: Calling Major Tom Author: David M. Barnett Genre: Fiction Publisher: Orion Release Date: June 29, 2017 Format: ebook Pages: 304 Source: NetGalley We all know someone like Thomas. The grumpy next-door-neighbour who complains to the Residents’ Committee about the state of your front lawn. The man who tuts when you don’t have the correct …

More

Summit 8000 by Andrew Lock reviewed

Title: Summit 8000 Life and Death with Australia's Master of Thin Air Author: Andrew Lock Genre: Non fiction Publisher: Melbourne University Press Release Date: November 28, 2016 Format: ebook Pages: 303 Source: NetGalley A thrilling memoir of the spectacular high-altitude mountaineering achievements of Andrew Lock: the only Australian to have summited all fourteen 8000-metre peaks …

More