Owls of the Eastern Ice by Jon Slaght reviewed

Title: Owls of the Eastern Ice Author: Jonathan Slaght Genre: Non-fiction Publisher: Penguin Press UK Release Date: August 04, 2020 Format: Ebook Pages: 256 Source: NetGalley A field scientist and conservationist tracks the elusive Blakiston’s Fish Owl in the forbidding reaches of eastern Russia The Blakiston’s Fish Owl, the largest species of owl on earth, …

More

Wanderland by Jini Reddy reviewed

Title: Wanderland Author: Jini Reddy Genre: Non-fiction Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing Plc (UK & ANZ) Bloomsbury Wildlife Release Date: June 30, 2020 Format: Ebook Pages: 272 Source: NetGalley Alone on a remote mountaintop one dark night, a woman hears a mysterious voice. Propelled by the memory and after years of dreaming about it, Jini Reddy dares …

More

The River by Peter Heller reviewed

Title: The River Author: Peter Heller Genre: Fiction Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Release Date: May 16, 2019 Format: Ebook Pages: 272 Source: NetGalley YOU CAN TRY TO OUTRUN NATURE… BUT WILL YOU SURVIVE ONE MAN’S FURY? TWO FRIENDS Wynn and Jack have been best friends since their first day of college: a gentle giant from …

More

Underland by Robert Macfarlane reviewed

Title: Underland Author: Robert Macfarlane Genre: Nonfiction Publisher: Penguin Books (UK) Release Date: May 02, 2019 Format: Ebook Pages: 280 Source: NetGalley Discover the hidden worlds beneath our feet… In Underland, Robert Macfarlane takes us on a journey into the worlds beneath our feet. From the ice-blue depths of Greenland’s glaciers, to the underground networks …

More

The Library of Ice by Nancy Campbell reviewed

Title: The Library of Ice Author: Nancy Campbell Genre: Non Fiction Publisher: Simon and Schuster UK Release Date: November 1, 2018 Format: Ebook Pages: 400 Source: NetGalley A vivid and perceptive book combining memoir, scientific and cultural history with a bewitching account of landscape and place, which will appeal to readers of Robert Macfarlane, Roger …

More

The Sheep Stell by Janet White reviewed

Title: The Sheep Sell Author: Janet White Genre: Non Fiction Publisher: Constable Release Date: March 15, 2018 Format: Ebook Pages: 288 Source: NetGalley As a child in wartime England, Janet White decided that she wanted to live somewhere wild and supremely beautiful, to inhabit and work the landscape. She imagined searching the whole world for …

More